My Top 5 Actresses

heighttophollywoodfemal

Here is a list of my top 5 actresses. Do you agree? Did your favourites make the cut? read on to find out.

1 – Angelina Jolie

Angelina  Jolie has been my female film crush since I saw her in Lara Croft: Tomb Raider at the Angelina-Jolie-2young age of 8. Whilst her choice of film roles has sometimes dissapointed her audience (Troy and Beowulf), she also manages to choose some roles that seem perfect for her such as Wanted, The Tourist and Gia. The character she plays in these films are different yet lovable and each one just oozes sex appeal, specifically Wanted (she is just beauty personified in that film). She still receives a lot of stick for the situation regarding Jennifer Aniston and Brad Pitt but I feel this is unfair and that despite the issues of her personal life she is a great actress and her beauty is an added bonus for any male viewer.

Favourite film of hers: Wanted

Least favourite: Beowulf

2 – Uma Thurman

Uma Thurman in my eyes is an actress who is hard to define, she has never stuck to onetimthumb genre or chose to play the same stock character as many actors and actresses do. One personal reason as to why I love her is because of her appearance in Pulp Fiction and Kill Bill: Vol I & II. Especially Kill Bill due to the extreme violence, I feel she pulls of the action scenes very well yet still retains an emotional range as evidenced in basically all her films, (My Super Ex-Girlfriend not included)

Favourite film of hers: Kill Bill: Vol I

Least favourite: My Super Ex-Girlfriend

3 – Jodie Foster

With a career spanning nearly 50 years it is no wonder Foster has found her way onto my jodie_foster_globes_a_plist. Starting at the age of 3 Foster appeared in commercials slowly progressing onto the big screen, her role of Iris in Taxi Driver drew even more attention from audiences already wondering who this child star was. As Foster has grown older she has appeared in films less frequently, appearing in only 10 films since the millenium. This is my only pet peeve as it means that I do not get to see her in new films as often as I’d like. Foster is yet another beauty that appears on my list, voted 45th in Empire Magazines 100 ‘sexiest stars’ in film history. Fosters substantial career and stunning beauty made her a dead cert to be number 3 on my list.

Favourite film of hers: Panic Room

Least favourite: One Little Indian

4 – Sandra Bullock

Bullock rose to fame after the success of Demolition Man, Audiences were awestruck by sandra-bullock1the gorgeous Bullock and even more impressed by her acting skills. Similar to the other actresses on my list Bullock demonstrates versatility in the roles she plays ranging from the likes of a trainee cop (Demolition man), a charitable housewife (The Blindside) and even an astronaut (Gravity). She has endeared herself over and over again to audiences with every new role. It is no surprise that she was listed in the Guiness World Book of Records as the highest paid actress in the world. With the talent she has it was inevitable that she would make it to the big time. On this list she also appears in my favourite film that all the stars have made.

Favourite film of hers: The Blindside

Least favourite: Love Potion No. 9

5 – Saoirse Ronan

The only actress who makes my list who is yet to be fully established in the film industry.Saoirse-Ronan Despite her appearances in films such as The Lovely Bones, Hanna and most famously Atonement, she is yet to be consistently picked for mainstream films. However with her very recent appearance in The Grand Budapest Hotel perhaps this is the point in her career where she becomes a lot more well known and is able to reach new highs as an actress with the talent she undoubtedly has, she is one of the youngest people to every be nominated for an oscar. As a young actress she has also shown that she has the maturity and emotional range to act in serious hard hitting films as well as the ability to play less serious characters. Her inclusion in several very successful films shows she is very much more than a one trick pony.

Favourite film of hers: Hanna

Least favourite: The Host

This entry was posted in Top 5s and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Top 5 Actresses

  1. I agree—only Saoirse Ronan I’m unfamiliar with—I don’t get out to the movies much! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

